Dead Until Dark

Author: Charlaine Harris
Book #1 of Series: Sookie Stackhouse
View: 2874
Published year: 0


Dead Until Dark, published in 2001, is the first novel in Charlaine Harris' series The Southern Vampire Mysteries or Sookie Stackhouse #1 Dead Until Dark, like the rest of the series to which it belongs, is narrated by Sookie Stackhouse, a telepathic waitress from the small fictional Louisiana town of Bon Temps, not far from the non-fictional town of Shreveport. It is set at approximately the same time as the book's publication. However, in the world of the novel, vampires (and other supernatural creatures) are a reality. At some point in the recent past, Sookie tells us, the invention of synthetic blood, called Tru Blood, has made it unnecessary for vampires to feed on humans for sustenance, thus allowing the world's previously underground vampire community to reveal its existence to humans. This "Great Revelation" was an internationally televised event in which vampires expressed the desire for peaceful coexistence with humans. Also relevant to plot development is the fact that vampire blood is an addictive and illegal drug which accelerates healing, increases strength, improves the libido, and make the person who drinks it better-looking.

Buy The Book With HALF PRICE